Changing where Outlook Searches Emails by Default

By standss Wednesday, May 1st, 2013

Last week we had some tips on searching Outlook emails. Here’s how you can tweak things further by controlling where Outlook searches by default.

Outlook 2013/2016
Type anything in the Search Box and Outlook will search the current folder except if you’re in the Inbox. If you’re in the Inbox, Outlook searches all folders in the current mail box.

Since I have started using Email Tags, I now organize my emails by Tags instead of folders. As a result I prefer for my Searches to be in ALL MAILBOXES and not just the current mail box. Here’s how you can change the setting in Outlook 2013 to search All Mailboxes.

  • Open Outlook
  • Click File > Options
  • Click the Search tab to display Search Options.

Outlook Search Options

  • Select All Mailboxes and click OK

Now when you do a search, Outlook will search in all mailboxes by default.

In Outlook 2010/2007, there is not an option to search all Mailbox but you can search all “All folders” by default.

Here’s a quick setting changing that will force Outlook to search all mail items by default.

In Outlook 2010:

  • Click File > Options
  • Click the Search tab to display Search Options.

search all folders outlook 2010

  • Click All folders and then click OK

In Outlook 2007:

  • Click Tools > Options
  • Click the Search Options button on the Preferences tab to display the Search Options box.

search all folders outlook 2007

  • Click All folders and then click OK.

It’s a small tweak but it could save you a lot of clicks.

Do you have any other Search tricks that you find useful. Share it with other readers by leaving a comment on the blog.

Categories : EmailTags for Outlook, outlook 2013, Outlook as a Business Tool, Outlook Email Filing & Management Tip, Outlook Email Tips, Outlook Search Tips

3 thoughts on “Changing where Outlook Searches Emails by Default

  1. Thanks for the tip, but my outlook 2016 returns to Current folder default search option after each relaunch. Is it a way to save it permanently?

  2. The settings should be saved an retained after relaunch. If you are on a corporate network, you may need to check if they have locked down the settings in some way.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search Blog

Archives